B. Ramakrishna Rau Award
Established in memory of B. Ramakrishna Rau, and awarded in recognition of his distinguished career in promoting and expanding the use of innovative computer microarchitecture techniques, including his innovation in compiler technology, his leadership in academic and industrial computer architecture, and his extremely high personal and ethical standards.

Nomination Deadline:

Extended Deadline is 30 June 2021

The award nomination requires a minimum of 3 endorsements.

Nomination Questions (pdf)  |  Download the Rau flyer (pdf)

(Completed nominations and endorsement letters are due on 30 June 2021 – 11:59 pm EDT)

The B. Ramakrishna Rau award will be presented “in recognition of substantial contributions in the field of computer microarchitecture and compiler code generation.”

The candidate will have made an outstanding, innovative contribution or contributions to microarchitecture, use of novel microarchitectural techniques or compiler/architecture interfacing. It is hoped, but not required, that the winner will have also contributed to the computer microarchitecture community through teaching, mentoring, or community service. This award will consist of a certificate and a $2,000 honorarium.

The winner will be announced and invited to present a paper and/or presentation at the ACM/IEEE International Symposium on Microarchitecture normally held in December. The Rau award will be presented annually and honored to a single recipient.


2021 B. Ramakrishna Rau Award Committee Chair

Gurindar Sohi, Univ. of Wisconsin-Madison


Past Recipients